Poems from Glen Elk (volume 2)

I consider these nonfiction.  Most of this happened over a decade ago, but these are the Glen Elk stories I recall and retell most often.  If I haven’t forgotten them by now, that means they are an active part of my life still, informing my walk.  This volume is the miracles and legends section of my ode to the neighborhood.  But they’re all true.

MADISON

“Madison fell!”

They beat the back door

“Open up!  Madison fell!”

 

Two pieces of

The wooden fire escape

Broken

And the child was gone

30 feet down

Into ruins-

Bricks, nails, and glass

 

Her mother running

Down to the body-

I called 911 because

I knew she was dead

 

When the firemen came

Madison was awake

In her father’s arms

“May have internal bleeding…

Better take her in.”

 

We were silent

On the street

As the ambulance

Drove away,

And we smoked

100 cigarettes

 

I prayed

And the women cried

In despair

Because their prayers

Had never been

Answered before

 

Hours later

Madison was home

“She is okay!”

Said her mother

No breaks, no bleeding

“We stopped at McDonald’s

To celebrate.”

“How are you Madison?”

 

“I fell!”

 

“You sure did, sweety”

And I wept

And imagined her

Little body tumbling

Through the still air

Toward oblivion,

But slowed

To a gentle stop

By a flight of angels

 

And I repented

For my lack of faith

 

RICKY

A drunk on the sidewalk

Sleeping against the door

Of the women’s dorm

 

“Can you move him for us?”

They say,

“We can’t get around him

And we’re not

Stepping over him?”

 

Sure.

 

“Hey Ricky,

You have to move,

Why don’t you go

To the warm room?

These ladies need

To get back in,

Let’s go, Ricky,

You have to move”

 

Rising to his knees

“I don’t have to do shit!”

He swings at me

And punches my hip

 

It felt like nothing

And suddenly,

I was sorry for him

That he was so weak

“Ricky, my sister used

To hit me harder-

Let’s go to the warm room”

 

That night I stopped

Being afraid of

People on the street

 

COWBOY

I know nothing about him,

But isn’t that how

It’s supposed to be

With legends?

 

I saw Cowboy everyday-

Hat

Boots

Gaucho belt

Greatest mustache in town

Handsome grin

 

And I know nothing about him

Except for these things

 

And if he didn’t show

Even for a day

Thirty people would ask

Where’s Cowboy?

 

And if we know nothing about him

It’s our own fault

 

But that’s how

It’s supposed to be

With legends

 

THE PRIEST

Jason,

A chubby man of 25,

“I have eleven kids

With seven women”

He boasted once

 

I couldn’t do the math on that

“Why so many women?”

 

“I’m a polygamist,

It’s part of my religion”

He was Mormon, Buddhist,

Wiccan, and Muslim

 

Later

Josh the Artist says

“We’ve got a name

For Jason’s religion:

Pseudo-Mormadite”

 

THE PROPHET

A harsh-eyed man

Rises in the center

Of the dining room

And spreads his arms

“Give me some food!”

 

“Lunch ended an hour ago,”

Said the Cook

“Dinner is a five o’clock”

 

“But I’m hungry!”

He says,

like Charlton Heston

To Yul Brynner

 

“Come back at five.”

 

He removes a shoe

“THEN I SHAKE OFF

THE DUST OF MY FEET

AGAINST THIS TOWN!”

And exits

 

And fearful

That a bearded man

Had just quoted Jesus

In anger,

I think of Sodom, Gomorrah

And Elisha and the bears

“Maybe we’d better feed him”

 

The Cook puts her

Hands on her hips,

“Well, he can dust

His feet off

On down the road

For all I care!”

 

Matt 10:14-15, II Kings 2:23-24

 

MONK

“I was a lumberjack

And I got fired

For chopping down trees

Too fast-

They said I had to

Slow down

Use a chainsaw-

But I was faster

With just an axe-

Then me and another guy

Decided we’d work together-

Him on one side

Me on the other-

We just pulled the trees up

Roots and all”

 

“Monk, that sounds made up”

 

“What do you know?

You never

Cut down a tree”

 

Poems from Glen Elk (volume 1)

 

 

One thought on “Poems from Glen Elk (volume 2)

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑