Grace, My Girl, My Heroine

15411104968_b0eb0e0136_z

Photo: Tom Simpson CC

Grace, my girl, my heroine

My Wonder Woman, breaker of walls
Wisdom’s pretty sister, first sign of beauty
Found me after my fall

Wild and sexy with her love of truth
In her fists, her golden rope
My prison, a fool’s paradigm
A villain’s notion of hope

And a villain was I (not super)
A genius lapsarian
Ready to crush my whole broken race
And feast on the cold carrion

My death ray aimed at the tallest tower
My vile in the water supply
My bomb in the heart of the mountain tunnel;
It was then it all went awry

I blasted myself, became disfigured
Entombed in rubble and mud
But Grace ignored my pitiful curses
And gathered me, covered in blood

Then kicking back steel with her amazing leg
And hate with her shimmering eye
The spangled Amazon fought her way out
And cleared a path to the sky

Now on wings invisible
I live in perpetual flight
No higher than any human being
No lower than morning light

Ah Grace! So powerful, tall, and gorgeous
In your spandex trimmed with gold
Your immodesty offends the arrogant
You’re a bombshell, brash and bold

Grace, my girl, my heroine
My Wonder Woman, breaker of walls
Wisdom’s pretty sister, first sign of beauty
Found me after my fall

-Jared St. Martin Brown

July 2011

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

