Option

Woman, dear Woman,
Shovel in hand,
Spend half a day
In the pit like a man

Your fingers will bleed
Your cough will turn gruff
You’ll cry to signify
You’ve had quite enough

Throw down your tools
And wail where you stand
Such an option
Don’t exist for a man

Man, dear Father,
Your son in my womb,
Throw a fit and
Leave the room

Get you a drink
Flee disgrace
Maybe you’ll forget
If you don’t see his face

For I am your incident
A crease on your brow
Something detached
To disavow

Find another life
Out in the world
Such an option don’t exist
For a pregnant girl

-JSMB 8/24/11

Tagged , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Option

  1. CC Champagne says:

    Very much confusing, but in a good way (I think)! I really like it, but it does feel like I’ve been on a bit of a roller-coaster ride with many sharp turns. Very clever!

  2. sad, well done….
    happy rally.

  3. For I am your incident
    A crease on your brow
    Something detached
    To disavow

    An excellent feminist statement I think. On an unrelated note I have a poem (warning, it’s long) that you might enjoy (seeing your lovely words at the top) called Sesquipedalianism and Logophilia Engage in Logomachy (it’s a satire) http://chromapoesy.com/2011/08/23/sesquipedalianism-and-logophilia-engage-in-logomachy-2/

    • lexidelphia says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you picked up on the feminist undertones of that poem. I have been blessed to live in a community of strong women, and their reactions to life’s conflict usually makes it into my work. I’ll be following that link you posted.

  4. ashbeezone says:

    Very Nice Poetry with an amazing Imagination
    Great Work of Creativity !! Highly Expressive !!

    It was indeed enjoyable after reading this one !!

    Anyways, Take a look some of my Poetry Collections …
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/talent-underground/poetry-zone/

    some of my Haiku Collections
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/creative-challenges/the-haiku-challenge/

    and also, on my very recent Work as well
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/india-of-my-dream/

    !!! Happy Rally !!!
    Cheers !!

  5. Hard-hitting turnabout. Sad consequences on both sides. Nice depiction of the disconnect between the sexes, as it all too often plays out.

  6. bendedspoon says:

    powerful right! to accept the norm is an option; to not accept it is still an option 🙂

  7. Wyoming Diva says:

    This definitely brought up my feminist hackles – it is so crazy, isn’t it, that there is this disparity between the genders?

  8. zongrik says:

    I like the feminist touch in this.

  9. strong emotions, poetic and beautiful lines…

    🙂

Leave a Reply

